Association for Institutional Thought

Page Title

Graduate Students

The Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT) exists in part to assist graduate students who have an interest in heterodox economics, as well as undergraduates who are considering studies in a pluralistic graduate program. 

Our members will go out of our way to assist in however we can, whether it be about teaching ,the job market, publishing, getting tenure, or just talking heterodox economics.   You are invited to ask questions through the forums on our website or contact any of the officers, so that we can match your area of interest with other AFIT scholars. To post topics in our forums you will need to register a user account.

Life as a heterodox economist isn’t always easy, but you are not alone.  You have a whole community of scholars with whom you can discuss, argue, vent, or seek advice.  We are here, and we’re not going anywhere.


The Association for Institutional Thought
Ninth Annual Student Scholars Award Competition

The Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT) proudly announces the Ninth Annual AFIT Student Scholars Award Competition. The aim of AFIT is to encourage undergraduate and graduate students in Economics and Political Economy to pursue research in topics within the Institutional Economics framework and which draws upon and acknowledges the work of Institutional economists.

Awards will be made to the three best papers. Winners are expected to present their research during a special session at the Annual Meetings of AFIT, held during the Western Social Science Association’s Annual Conference at the Hyatt, Albuquerque, New Mexico, April 2-5, 2014.

Winners will each receive:

  1. $300 prize
  2. One year student membership in AFIT
  3. Paid WSSA Conference Registration
  4. Paid admission to the AFIT Presidential Address Dinner

Winning papers must be presented at the special AFIT session in order to be eligible for the prize. Prizes will be presented during the AFIT Presidential Address Dinner.


Application Procedures and Deadlines

Papers must be between 15-25 pages in length (4,000–7,000 words), including references and appendices. An entry must include author, educational affiliation, and email address.  They should be submitted electronically (preferably as a pdf) by December 1, 2013 to:

Professor Frederic S. Lee
Department of Economics
211 Haag Hall
University of Missouri-Kansas City
5100 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, Missouri  64110
E-mail:  leefs@umkc.edu
Winners will be notified by 1/15/14.


Papers of last year’s winners are found at: